Members of the Council (Councillors)

Role of a Councillor

A councillor is a member of the council and is normally elected for a term of four years.
People of any political or religious persuasion are eligible to become a councillor, although their personal views should not extend into their parish council work.

Councillors are elected to represent the interests of the local community as a whole and promote a harmonious local environment. The number of elected councillors depends on the size of the area.  Ludgvan Parish Council has twelve members.

Local councils are the first tier of governance and are the first point of contact for anyone concerned with a community issue. They are democratically elected local authorities and exist in England, Wales and Scotland. The term 'local council' is synonymous with 'parish council', 'town council' and 'community council'.

Local councils are made up of locally elected councillors. They are legally obliged to hold at least one meeting a year. Most meet on a six-weekly or monthly cycle (Ludgvan PC meets on the second Wednesday in each month) to discuss council business and hear from local residents. In addition to this, any committees or sub-committees dealing with specific subjects must also hold regular open sessions, at which members of the public can speak.


Ludgvan Parish Council Committee Membership List

County, unitary and metropolitan councillors are also invited to attend parish meetings when the parish council feels it is appropriate, and they have a standing invitation to attend and report at the annual meeting.
Being a Parish Councillor can be both an interesting and rewarding experience.  When, from time to time, a vacancy arises it will be advertised in the local press.


You can access members Declarations Of Interest by clicking on their name.

Charlie CARTWRIGHT 6 Trewartha Terrace, Penzance.
TR18 2HE
  May 2017
Roy MANN Little Chysauster, New Mill, Penzance. TR20 8XA 01736 351134 Sept 2013
Stephanie MIUCCI Rosevine, Whitecross, Penzance.
TR20 8BS
01736 740046 Aug 2016
John MUNDAY Gwel-an-Carn, 56 Heather Lane, Canonstow, Hayle, TR27 6NQ 07973 266456 Jan 2019
Margaret PARKER 2 Boslevan, Green Lane, Marazion, TR17 0HQ 01736 710668 July 2018
Clive PRICE-JONES 14 Lower Quarter, Ludgvan, Penzance,
TR20 8EQ
07944 004330 June 2018
Mark SQUIRE 1 Farmers Court, Crowlas. TR20 8EN   May 2017
Margaret TAYLOR     Jan 2019
Lorna TRUDGEON Little Briar, Churchfield, Ludgvan. TR20 8ER 01736 741221 June 2013
Simon ELLIOTT   07595 374426 Dec
Cornwall Councillor
30 Penare Road, Penzance, Cornwall, TR18 3AJ
Member of Parliament
House of Commons, London SW1A 0AA  
Constituency Office Wharfside Shopping Centre, Wharf Road Penzance. TR18 2GB    




an mh-p website